Party Monster

Party Monster, 2003
dir. Fenton Bailey, Randy Barbato
3.3/5

Back when I was on Tumblr, a lot of the people I followed always reblogged stills of Party Monster. I thought they were stupid – who wants to see a washed up Macaulay Culkin in drag? One day, I figured I couldn’t beat them, so I might as well join them.

The story of Michael Alig happened to be a very amusing one. Whether Party Monster played up the Club Kid’s life story or dulled it down, I am not sure, but the movie has certainly made me want to watch the earlier Party Monster documentary.

Favorite thing: The costumes were pretty neat.

Worst thing: I know I ought to respect Culkin for trying to break out of his child star days, but…seeing him as an adult is slightly uncomfortable.

Should you see it? Yeah, if you’re not a square.

Leave a comment